Tracking changes to a document is used when multiple users are working in its editing. It is done so that we can see which user has made the changes, so that we can remove errors or make other changes that will improve the final version. This option only applies to shared documents. Even if we did not share it, after activating the tracking changes option it will become a shared document.
We activate this option by clicking Track Changes option in the Review ribbon, and then selecting the Highlight Changes option in the opened menu. After the dialog box opens, you first need to mark the Track Changes While Editing. By marking this option, we share the document and start tracking changes. Below, we need to choose when marking changes, by choosing options in three menus: When, Who and Where. On the Options menu, options are offered: Since I last saved, All changes, all that are not reviewed (Not yet reviewed) and Since date changes. In the Who menu, options are offered: Everyone, Everyone but me, and the name of the user who owns the workbook. In the Where menu it is possible to mark the area in which changes are being monitored. At the bottom of the window dialog there are two more optional fields. The first field of selection (Highlight changes on screen) is indicated if we want the changes to be marked in the worksheet. The second changes list (List changes on new sheet), which can only be marked if there have been some changes in the document, adds a new worksheet called History in which we can see the history of the changes after saving the document. After confirming, by clicking OK, the changes in the document begin to follow.
Changes can be made by different users, and the basic idea of tracking changes is that when we want to finalize the document, we decide which changes we want to keep and which we reject. Accepting changes is started by clicking on Track Changes, and then in the menu that opens, choose the Accept / Reject Changes option. Again, we have three menus that reflect three selection criteria: When, Who and Where. And in the previous and in this dialog window it is not mandatory to select all three criteria! There are two options in the When menu: changes not reviewed (Not yet reviewed) and from date date (Since Date). In the Who menu, options are offered: Everyone, Everyone but me, and the name of the user who owns the workbook. In the Where menu, it is also possible to mark the area in which changes are being monitored. After confirmation, Excel begins to monitor changes in cells and in all cells where some changes are detected, offering us the ability to accept or reject the change. We can also accept or reject any changes in the document.
We can revise the changes to the document on multiple occasions, whether we are following new changes (those that have not been reviewed) or changes since the last saving of a document. This is a logical consequence of the joint work of multiple users on one document. When the last version is completed, it’s important to stop sharing the document and record the final version. We do this by entering the Backstage View, clicking on the File tab, then selecting the Info option, and then select the Mark as Final option in the Protect Workbook menu. Excel will offer us to save a document. The document thus saved, after reopening, will display a warning that it is a document that is finished and should not be changed.